Shopping Cart
Your Cart is Empty
There was an error with PayPalClick here to try again
CelebrateThank you for your business!You should be receiving an order confirmation from Paypal shortly.Exit Shopping Cart

"Everything is Possible"​

The seven chakras and what they mean. Chakra Yoga


What has always fascinated me about the Chakras is that each and everyone of them is related to the Endocrine system.

Patanjali wrote about the Chakras around 4,000 years ago, centuries upon centuries before we knew about the Endocrine system.

The Chakras are said to be like whirling vortexes within the body, seven of them, each relating to our physical and mental well-being. If any one of them is not perfectly balanced it has an adverse affect on our bodies.

The Endocrine system relates to the hormone glands within our bodies and just like the Chakras if any one of them is not working properly it has an adverse affect on our bodies - fascinating.


Mulandara - Root/Base Chakra

Svadhistana - Sacral Chakra

Manipura - Solar Plexus Chakra

Anahata - Heart Chakra

Visuddha - Throat Chakra

Ajna - Third Eye Chakra

Sahasrara - Crown Chakra

Each one relates to different hormones within the body and has a symbol, colour and sound to go with it. For instance, the Throat Chakra is blue in colour and the chant sound is 'h-a-m'. If the throat chakra is unbalanced it could show itself in either an over-active or under-active thyroid on a physical level. Or if, for example on an emotional level, someone who speaks too much or finds it hard to express themselves, they may have an unbalanced throat chakra.

So, how can we balance them? Whilst practising asanas (postures) relevant to that particular Chakra, and by visualising the appropriate colour and chanting the appropriate sound. For instance, for the throat chakra we may practise Ustrasana - Camel posture whilst chanting h-a-m or repeating an affirmation (you can do either one of these silently if you wish) and/or visualising the colour blue.

About once a month we have a Chakra Workshop in our general classes and we start the class with a guided meditation through each chakra, then we do a few asanas (postures) relevant to each chakra and finish with a guided relaxation through each chakra. This class is always very serene, and at the end you can feel a palpable difference in the energy of all the students.